Modest Mouse release new single, push back album release date

This is a long wait for someone with nothing to listen to…
Modest Mouse @ The Masonic in September

Shit Luck for fans anticipating the first new Modest Mouse record in eight years, as Isaac Brock and co. have pushed back the release date of Strangers to Ourselves from March 3 to March 17. Perhaps they need the extra time to prep for their The Tonight Show appearance on that same day.

Taking some of the sting off the delay, the band have released a third song from the record (along with the tracklist), the penultimate tune “The Best Room.” Nothing revelatory or unexpected about the song, just another solid late-career Modest Mouse track that leans more toward Brock’s melodic/melancholy tendencies. The record also includes the three new songs Modest Mouse performed at the Masonic in September.

Strangers to Ourselves, in addition to being the top hit in the Modest Mouse album name generator, features guest vocals/contributions from Shins’/Broken Bells’ James Mercer, Grandaddy’s Jim Fairchild, and more. The record is available for pre-order via Brock’s Glacial Pace label.

Check out “The Best Room” and track listing below:

Strangers to Ourselves tracklist:
1. “Strangers to Ourselves”
2. “Lampshades on Fire”
3. “Shit in Your Cut”
4. “Pistol (A. Cunanan, Miami, FL. 1996)”
5. “Ansel”
6. “The Ground Walks, with Time in a Box”
7. “Coyotes”
8. “Pups to Dust”
9. “Sugar Boats”
10. “Wicked Campaign”
11. “Be Brave”
12. “God is an Indian and You’re an Asshole”
13. “The Tortoise and the Tourist”
14. “The Best Room”
15. “Of Course We Know”


One thought on “Modest Mouse release new single, push back album release date

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s