Speedy Ortiz announce new record, ‘Foil Deer’ out in April

Speedy Ortiz @ Ricksaw Stop in October

Speedy Ortiz announced the release of Foil Deer, their second full-length and follow up to last year’s Real Hair EP. The record comes out April 21 via Carpark.

From Carpark: [Singer/songwriter/guitarist Sadie] Dupuis wrote much of Foil Deer at her mother’s home in the Connecticut woods, where the songwriter imposed a self-regulated exile and physical cleansing of sorts, finding that many of the songs came to her while running or swimming alone. “I gave up wasting mental energy on people who didn’t have my back,” she says. “Listening to our old records, I get the sense I was putting myself in horrible situations just to write sad songs. This music isn’t coming from a dark place, and without slipping into self-empowerment jargon, it feels stronger.” Many of the songs deal with a similar sense of starting over, editing out the unnecessary drama. “Boys be sensitive and girls be, be aggressive,” she sings on “Mister Difficult.”

In addition to the track listing and diorama-themed cover artwork, the band released a comic panel from artist Michael DeForge to announce the album. Check out the album cover, comic, and track listing.

SpeedyO_FoilDeerCVR9001 speedything-illo

Foil Deer tracks:
01 Good Neck
02 Raising the Skates
03 The Graduates
04 Dot X
05 Homonovus
06 Puffer
07 Swell Content
08 Zig
09 My Dead Girl
10 Ginger
11 Mister Difficult
12 Dvrk Wvrld

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s